June 14, 2019

Palm Beach Attorney Leslie Mitchell Kroeger Elected 59th President of the Florida Justice Association


WEST PALM BEACH – The Florida Justice Association (FJA) has elected Palm Beach County attorney Leslie Mitchell Kroeger as its president for 2019-2020. Kroeger, partner with Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll in Palm Beach Gardens, is FJA’s 59th president and the second woman to lead the state’s top group of civil justice advocates. Recently retired Circuit Court Judge Karen Gievers served as FJA’s president in 1990-1991.   

“As champions for civil justice, we stand together to protect access to the courts. In turn, when it comes to our profession as trial lawyers, we also must uphold values of inclusion, opportunity, and responsibility,” said Kroeger. “We all win when our profession better reflects the rich diversity that is alive in today’s Florida. We will continue to raise awareness and open the doors of the civil justice system to Floridians from all walks of life.”

During a swearing-in ceremony at FJA’s Annual Convention held at The Breakers Hotel in Palm Beach, FJA President Kroeger outlined her top priorities for her term including reinforcing FJA’s role as a leading champion for Florida consumers at the Capitol, in the Courts, and in our communities.  With a pledge to listen to and embrace new ideas to keep our organization moving forward,” Kroeger also committed to increasing the group’s membership ranks by enhancing member-to-member engagement and information sharing. 

“As trial lawyers, we believe the civil justice system created by our nation’s founders, is the best way to hold powerful interests accountable when they harm people,Kroeger told attendees at a luncheon celebrating civil justice. “Without the work we do to represent those who need us most, the safety of our children, families, and communities would be at risk by corporations who will put deadly products in our children’s nurseries, dangerous drugs on our medicine shelves, and poison in our drinking water – all in the name of profit.”

Kroeger is Co-Chair of Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll’s Complex Tort Litigation practice group. She has served as an Assistant Public Defender for Brevard and Seminole counties and as an Assistant State Attorney in Miami-Dade County.

Kroeger succeeds fellow Palm Beach Attorney Trey Lytal, a partner with Lytal, Reiter, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath in West Palm Beach.

Other FJA officers elected for the 2019-20 term include:

  • President-Elect: Eric Romano is a partner with the Romano Law Group in West Palm Beach. He is among the top trial lawyers in America and is also a former prosecutor with the state attorney’s office in Palm Beach County. With expertise in both arenas, Romano frequently lectures on criminal and civil trial practice;
  • Treasurer: Tiffany Faddis is an attorney with Dan Newlin & Partners in Orlando. She has been a leader in Central Florida’s legal community and has served as president of the Hispanic Bar Association of Central Florida and as president of the Central Florida Trial Lawyers Association; and
  • Secretary: Curry Pajcic is an attorney with the Law Firm of Pajcic & Pajcic in Jacksonville. He was a co-author of the Honor Code and a founder of the Honor System at the University of Florida College of Law, where he was elected the first Chair of the Honor Committee in 1993. Pajcic graduated from the University of Florida College of Law in 1994 and was a prosecutor with the State Attorney’s Office from 1994-1997, where he was awarded the Jury Trial Award in 1997 for the highest number of jury trials to verdict. He joined Pajcic & Pajcic in 1998 and has been a personal injury trial lawyer ever since. Pajcic is a Board-Certified Civil Trial Lawyer, he is AV rated by his peers, and he was named Trial Lawyer of the Year in 2018 by the Jacksonville Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates (“ABOTA”). The National Trial Lawyers have honored Pajcic on its list of Top 100 Trial Lawyers, Florida Super Lawyers, and Florida’s Legal Elite. He is also a former finalist for U.S. Attorney in the Middle District of Florida.