Roberto Anguizola is an Of Counsel at Cohen Milstein and a member of the firm’s Public Client practice.

Prior to joining Cohen Milstein, Mr. Anguizola was a senior litigator at the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), where, for more than a decade, he played several key roles at the FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection, Division of Marketing Practices, including leading FTC consumer protection investigations and litigation in federal court and providing strategic advice and overseeing consumer protection litigation arising under the FTC Act and the Telemarketing Sales Rule.

During his tenure at the FTC, Mr. Anguizola received several awards and commendations, including the 2018 FTC Louis D. Brandeis Award for excellence in litigation and “significant and sustained contributions to the FTC’s anti-fraud program;” the Partnership for Public Service’s 2015 Basics Award for Ingenuity and Results for his leadership in curbing illegal robocalls; as well as a 2010 FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection Director’s Award for his leadership role in FTC v. Grant Connect LLC et al. (D. Nev.), addressing deceptive marketing in violation of the FTC Act and the Electronic Fund Transfer Act.

Prior to his government service, Mr. Anguizola was in private practice and served as a litigator at several formidable defense firms.

Mr. Anguizola earned his B.A. from Northwestern University, and he received his J.D. from Northwestern University School of Law, where he was an Associate Note and Comment Editor for the Northwestern University Law Review.

Mr. Anguizola is admitted only in Illinois, Minnesota (inactive), and Florida.  He has applied for admission to the District of Columbia Bar and is currently working under the close supervision of the partners of the firm who are admitted to practice in the District of Columbia. 

  • Staff Attorney, Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Division of Marketing Practices (2015 - 2019)
  • Assistant Bureau Chief, Federal Communications Commission, Enforcement Bureau (2015)
  • Assistant Director, Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Division of Marketing Practices (2011 - 2015)