June 12, 2013

Three professors today were awarded the prestigious 11th Annual Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund Writing Award for the best antitrust writing of 2012 that is also consistent with Jerry Cohen’s concern for economic justice.  Established in memory of Mr. Cohen, a founding partner of Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC, the award was given to professors John Kirkwood, John Connor, and Robert Lande at the 14th Annual Conference of the American Antitrust Institute in Washington, D.C.

John Kirkwood was recognized for his article "Powerful Buyers and Merger Enforcement," 92 B.U L. Rev. 1485 (2012), and John Connor and Robert Lande were recognized for their article "Cartels as Rational Business Strategy:  Crime Pays,” 34 Cardozo L. Rev. 427 (2012).  Kirkwood’s article provides a comprehensive analysis of the role of buyer power in merger enforcement.  The Connor and Lande article demonstrates that the combined level of U.S. cartel sanctions has been only 9-21% as large as it should be to protect potential cartel victims optimally.

Kirkwood is a Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Strategic Planning and Mission at the Seattle University School of Law; Connor is a Professor of Industrial Economics at Purdue University’s Department of Agricultural Economics; and Lande is a Professor of Economics at the University of Baltimore - School of Law.

The recipients share the $8,000 prize and each receives an original Lori Milstein art piece inscribed with the author’s name and the title of the winning article.

Two other articles were named as Honorable Mention by the Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund Writing Award Committee:

"Solving the Patent Settlement Puzzle,” 91 Tex. L. Rev. 283 (2012), authored by Einer Elhauge and Alex Krueger, and "Cartels, Corporate Compliance, and What Practitioners Really Think About Enforcement," 78 Antitrust L.J. 201 (2012), authored by D. Daniel Sokol.


The Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund Writing Award was created through a trust established in honor of the late Jerry S. Cohen, an outstanding trial lawyer and antitrust writer.  It is awarded each year to the best antitrust writing during the prior year that is consistent with the principles of economic justice that animated Jerry S. Cohen’s professional life.  It is administered by his former law firm Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC. The 2013 award selection committee was comprised of:  Warren S. Grimes, Professor of Law, Southwestern Law School; Roger Noll, Professor of Economics Emeritus, Stanford University; Ann C. Yahner, Administrative Law Judge for the District of Columbia; Charles P. Goodwin, Partner at Berger & Montague; and Daniel A. Small, Partner at Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll.